RSS

Hello America!

13 Apr

I never thought that I would set foot in the US of A anytime soon let alone the city of celebrity-dom – L.A., because coming from Malaysia, it is very expensive to travel all the way here. But guess what? I am finally here, thanks to the Alfred Friendly Press Fellowship and Daniel Pearl Foundation.

I’m in the land where the press is free, tap water is safe to drink, sulphate-free shampoo is cheap and most importantly – the weather makes my hair behave. I am so lucky to be living with my foster family – Chris and Corie Fager, who are such gracious and kind people. While their homely and beautiful house is nestled within the confines of a plush suburban neighborhood in Los Angeles, it is great to see that they remain ever so humble by welcoming me and making me feel right at home.
As I landed at LAX, I was pleasantly greeted by Narda Zacchino, the executive director of the Daniel Pearl Foundation. I have the utmost respect for this lovely lady who had previously worked at the Los Angeles Times for over 30 years.
Ten days have gone by since I first landed in D.C. and I am looking forward for the days, weeks and months to come. It’s funny but I remember the evening I arrived at Dulles Airport in D.C. and met Katie Rudolph from Alfred Friendly Press Foundation for the first time. As I walked with her to her car, and being from Malaysia where we drive on the left (wrong) side of the street, I gravitated towards the right side of her car completely oblivious that I was in America. I hope she didn’t think I was trying to hijack her car. I can still laugh about it to myself like a blithering idiot.
I am writing this while feeling a bit anxious as I will start my stint at the Times in 12 hours and counting. Let’s just hope I don’t get lost on the subway getting there as I have yet to get my car. More importantly, let’s hope I don’t drive on to the pavement.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment